CSS Positioning Elements!!!

August 16, 2009

HTML SOURCE: CSS LAYOUT

I did like how right off the bat the problem with tables and frustration was stated. because they are a pain… however they put the style in the div which i havent seen i think it might get a little lost… but i could be wrong!!!

Barely Fitz Design: Learn CSS in Ten Steps

I really liked how this was seperated into 10 steps on 10 different pages/tabs.it really seems to be 9 the last is a disclaimer! and off to the left a preview was being shown of the results. this showed me a few things i didnt know or think of trying and refreshed my memory, like i forgot about clear:both which is on the 9th step.

-on step 4 i learned if the container is relative then the div inside is set to absolute it will be set to inside the parent div.

– on step 5 that you can set the absolute and set one to 0 on top and right and the other top and left for columns instead of doing the math or trying estimate

StopDesign : Making the absolute,relative
I was a little unsure when to use absolute and relative. because i don’t think I’ve ever really used relative. so i played with relative. and after reading this a have a little better understanding when to use it. so now i will go back and use absolute in areas it seems i should instead of relative.

One Response to “CSS Positioning Elements!!!”

  1. logojones Says:

    I like the first site that you posted. Putting the style in the div where was that at? I must have missed it somehow. I found the same site stopdesign. Im glad you figured it out because I’m still fiddling with it. Maybe we will have some time in class today and you can explain it in a simpler way for me.


Leave a Reply

