Using a bread machine

February 7, 2011

A while back I got a Williams Sonoma Bread Machine from Freecycle. I have not touched it since I placed it on my counter in my kitchen. Since I have no idea how to use it, I think it is about time to figure it out.  From what I have gathered using a bread machine is the same as if you were to do it all by hand. Since I have not made bread by hand, I will be starting from the beginning.

First thing I should do is clean the bread machine. Don’t want any dirty or dusty bread. First what I need to do is take the pan out and wash it.Normally, I would need to make sure that any bread crumbs have been removed using a cloth wet with water and soap. Under no circumstances should any sharp or metal objects should be used. The pan is coated with non-stick and hard objects will scratch off the non stick. The paddle will also need to be soaked in soap water and cleaned before using. Clean the rest of the inside and maybe the outside of the bread machine with a wet cloth.

Every bread machine has different settings. Figuring out what things my bread machine can do will become beneficiary later. Since the bread machine does all the hard work for me I need to figure out what will go inside the bread machine. With the bread machine I will be able to add dry ingredients together and let the machine mix and cook the bread.

When using a bread machine you will need to know what kind of yeast you are using so that you can set the time correctly. Bread machine yeast and rapid-rise yeast are made for the bread machine since they become active faster. Bread machine yeast can be mixed with dry ingredients while Active Yeast must be dissolved in water first. To determine if your active-yeast is still usable you must proof it. To do so you will need to get a bowl and put 1 cup of warm water that is 110 degrees F. Then you will need to add 2 teaspoons of sugar and stir it to dissolve. You will then need to sprinkle 2 and half teaspoons of yeast on top. Let it sit for a few minutes then stir until dissolved. The bowl will need to be covered with plastic wrap and set in a warm, draft- free place. After 5-10 minutes if the top does not turn creamy or foamy then there is no activity and should be thrown away and replaced with new yeast.

Cleaning:

http://www.ehow.com/how_2329724_clean-bread-maker.html

getting Started:

http://www.ehow.com/how-does_5405354_do-bread-makers-work.html

Reciepe:

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Basic-Sourdough-Bread/Detail.aspx

Leave a Reply

