Sausage Cheese Balls

February 26, 2011

During Christmas break, I took a little road trip on a RV to Tennessee, where my grandparents live. While on the road my dad’s girlfriend made some sausage balls. They were the size a pretty good sized cookie. They didn’t turn out all that great. Later on at my grandparents house, I had a small marble sized sausage balls. Even though they had to be reheated, they were very good. I couldn’t stop eating them.

Later on I discovered that my grandma gave my dads girlfriend the recipe, so these both came from the same recipe.  They both used the same ingredients but my grandmas came out better. Maybe it was grandmas special touch.

I got the recipe from my grandma before I went back home, so that I could make these delicious sausage balls myself. I finally got around to making these sausage balls. on the recipe it even indicates to create marble sized balls. So, now I have come to the conclusion that the size of the sausage balls is very important.

The recipe is very easy to do. You will need 1Ib of sausage the kind in the tube that is not precooked or pre shaped. You will also need Bisquick mix, 3 cups and cheddar cheese shredded, I bought it pre shredded You will need to put a whole package or 2 cups of it in the mix. You need to put it all into a large bowl and mix it by hand together. All the ingredients need to be very well mixed expecially the sausage. Pre heat the stove to 350.  Next will come the most time consuming part. You will need to roll small marble sized balls and place them on the cookie sheet. You need to keep it in the stove until they turn a light brown, this will not take long at all. Then you pull them out and they are done. I rotated cookie sheets because it did not take long I had some that were done before I was done making all the mix into balls.

 

 

One Response to “Sausage Cheese Balls”


  1. Howdy terrific blog! Does running a blog lioke this take a great
    deal of work? I have absolutely no expertise iin coding
    but I had been hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyways, should you have any recommendations or tips for new blog owners please share.

    I understand this is off subject nevertheless I simply needed to ask.
    Kudos!


Leave a Reply

